2015 Advisory Committee

The role of the advisory committee is to help advise the conference management on the defining trends, challenges and discussion points that ought to feature in the show.

We are confident that with their advice we can continue to deliver the top European smart energy event of the annual calendar.  

Working groups focusing on Grid Optimization, Intelligent Networks & Communication, IoT, Cloud, Data Management & Analytics, Renewable Energy Integration, Smart Homes & End User, Smart Cities and Smart Metering will be represented by policy makers, utility experts, leading solution providers and other key utility industry stakeholders. 

We would like to thank the following committee members for their contribution to this year's advisory committee meeting:


  • Joerg Mueller, Senio Principal, Accenture
  • Laurent Schmitt, VP Smart Grids Solutions, Alstom Grid
  • Jon Carter, UK Head of Business Development, Deutsche Telekom
  • Peter Jensen, Senior Researcher EDF R&D Division, EDF
  • Ricardo Almeida, Prata Chief of Department, EDP
  • Philip Westbroek, Telecommunications and cybersecurity consultant, Enexis
  • Paddy Turnbull, Chairman, Smart Grid Ireland and Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF)
  • Matt Roderick, Design and Assurance Director, Smart DCC
  • Volker Distelrath, Technology & Innovation, Siemens
  • Roland Stader, Head of Energy Automation, Telecommunications and IT, Stadtwerke Konstanz
  • Peter Hermans, Chief Architect, Stedin
  • Guillermo Amann, Vice-President, T&D Europe
  • Prof. Nermin Suljanovic, Researcher University of Tuzla, Department of Telecommunications


  • Gisele Widdershoven, Senior Manager - ICS Cyber Security, Accenture
  • Sander Kruese, Privacy & Security Advisor - Governance, Risk & Compliance, Alliander
  • Aart Jan Zwartscholten, Head of forecasting & data management, Eneco Energy Trading
  • Edwin Poot, Founder & CEO, Energyworx 
  • Erik van Wijk, Co-Founder & CTO, Energyworx
  • Louis Dietvorst, Enterprise Architect, Enexis
  • Geoffrey Riggs, Marketing and Communications Manager, ENCS
  • Maarten ten Hoeve, Director of Research, ENCS
  • Giovanni Pepicelli, IT innovation Programme Manager, ENEL
  • Peter Sigenstam, Vice President, Head of E.ON Innovation Centre Distribution, E.ON
  • Robert Tretinjak, Head of Meter Data Management, E.ON
  • Thorsten Heller, CEO, Greenbird Integration Technology
  • Joep van Leersum, Executive Partner Energy & Utilities, IBM GBS Consulting 
  • Mike Ballard, Director Utilities Strategy, Oracle   
  • Els Descheemaeker, Head of Big data accelaration lab (London), RWE AG, Essent
  • Radovan Sernec, R&D, TelekomSlovenije


  • Friso Koel, Head of Unit Regional Networks, ACM Autoriteit Consument & Markt
  • Peter Van den Heede, Marketing & Business Development Manager, Smart Grids ABB
  • Raquel Garde, Technical Manager Energy Storage Area, CENER
  • Simone Diodato Antonelli, European Public Affairs, ENEL
  • Peter Verboven, Innovation Developer Smart Grids, EnergyVille
  • Frauke Thies, Policy Director, EPIA
  • Mike Wilks, Director, EY's Global Power & Utilities Advisory, Ernst & Young
  • Christopher Burghardt, Managing Director EMEA, First Solar
  • Jesús Varela, European Grid Projets Manager, IBERDROLA
  • Stephen Woodhouse, Director Pöyry Management Consulting, Poyry
  • Migliavacca Gianluigi, Senior Research Engineer, RSE
  • Thomas Wiedemann, Project Manager New Technologies, RWE
  • Hans Erik Budde, Senior advisor - Elhub project, Statnett
  • Klaas Hommes, Projectmanager System Operations - System Services, TenneT


  • Giw Zangeneh, Head of energy storage technologies, ALACAES
  • Logan Goldie-Scott, Associate, Bloomberg New Energy Finance
  • Michael Salomon, Managing Director, Clean Horizon
  • Patrick Clerens, Secretary general, EASE - European Association for Energy Storage
  • Sander Fijn van Draat, Manager Business Development Policy Studies, ECN
  • Jonathan O'Sullivan, Manager of Sustainable Power System, EirGrid
  • Tobias Blank, Energy Systems, E.ON New Build & Technology
  • Roel de Maeyer, Director, Business development, Hydrogenics
  • Luca Pellizzari,  General Manager, Smart Energy EMEA Division, NEC
  • Cristina Gomez, Research and Development Coordinator, Red Eléctrica de España
  • Jan Schelling, Senior Technology Analyst, Statkraft
  • Anna Carolina, Tortora Head of Innovation & Storage, Lab Terna
  • Per Sundell, Senior Business Developer, Vattenfal AB


  • Stavros Sachinis, LCNF Project Manager, British Gas
  • Derek Roddy, CEO, Climote
  • Jean-Paul Krivine, Project-Director Smart Energy, EDF
  • Bernd Grohmann, Chief Technology Officer, eQ-3 AG
  • Willem Strabbing, Managing Director, ESMIG
  • Susan Furnell, Founder, Furnell
  • Roberta Bigliani, Associate Vice President and Head of Europe, Middle East and Africa, IDC Energy Insights
  • John Webster, Vice President of Marketing & Strategy, Opower
  • Michael Westermeier, Technical Product Manager, Smart Homes, RWE Effizienz 
  • Jessica Stromback, Executive Director, Smart Energy Demand Coalition
  • Danijel Bonacic, Creative Director, Tam Tam
  • Philip Lewis, Founder and CEO, VaasaETT


  • Sonja Schouten, "Sherpa at European Innovation Partnership (EIP) Smart Cities & Communities", Alliander
  • Martin Schoenberg, Head of Policy, Climate Change Capital 
  • Antonio Messias, Director, EDP Distribution
  • Mercè Griera i Fisa, Head of Research & Innovation sector, European Commission
  • Panama Bartholomy, Director Investor, Confidence Project Europe
  • Lieke Hamers, Senior industry manager for City Next, Microsoft
  • Eric Woods, Research Director, Navigant
  • Thomas Nicholls, Head of Marketing and Communication, Sigfox
  • Pierre Brunet, VP Business Development Cities, Veolia


  • Edwin Endelebos, Programme Manager Smart Metering and Coordinator Smart Grid Developments, ACM Autoriteit Consument & Markt
  • Yves Dherbecourt, Senior Project Manager, EDF
  • Kim Norgaard, Global Head of Solutions, Elster
  • Joachim Gruber, Senior Manager, EnBW Energie Baden-Württemberg AG
  • Marina Lombardi, Project Leader, ENEL Distribution
  • Manuel Jesus de Tellechea Suarez, Responsible for Innovation and Standardisation activities in the Smart Metering project, Endesa
  • Nicolle Raven, EU Affairs Manager, ESMIG
  • Alain Bollack, Global Smart Metering & Grid Leader, EY
  • Charles van Dyck, Business Development Manager & Area Manager, Flonidan
  • Tim Wolf, Director for Marketing for Smart Grid Solutions, Itron
  • Xavier Ringot, VP Smart Metering Solutions Center, Landis+Gyr
  • Larry Colton, Director, Global Business Development & Marketing, Networked Energy Services Corporation (NES)
  • Thomas Rieder, Head of Smart Metering, Salzburg AG
  • David Ross Scott, Smart Metering Industry Relationship Manager, ScottishPower
  • Marielle Liikanen, Senior Advisor, Swedish Energy Markets Inspectorate
  • Bernd Liebscher, Managing Director, Telekom Austria Group

Watch out for the provisional programme to be launched after the meeting!

Click here for more information about European Utility Week 2015!